St. Catherine Parish Development Committee’s Local Government School‘s Challenge Quiz 2015

St. Catherine Parish Development Committee’s Local Government School‘s Challenge Quiz 2015

A number of schools with students, teachers and coaches turned out on Wednesday, October 28, 2015 for the official launch of the St. Catherine Parish Development Committee/Ministry of Local Government’s 4th annual School’s Challenge Quiz 2015, held at Cecil’s Restaurant and Lounge, 35 Martin Street, Spanish Town. The St. Catherine Parish Council, Social Development Commission and the Portmore Municipal Council are also collaborative organizations in this venture.

Among the guests in attendance were Hon. Colin Fagan, Minster of State in the Ministry of Local Government, (Keynote Speaker) His Worship the Mayor of Spanish Town, and Chairman of the St. Catherine Parish Council, Councillor Norman Scott, Councillor Claude Hamilton, representing Mayor of the Portmore Municipality, Councillor Leon Thomas, and Mr. Gregory Prince, Parish Manager at the Social Development Commission, St. Catherine.

Minister Fagan in his address commended the participating schools and teachers for having accepted the PDCs request to participate, which he said will allow them all to learn more about the Local Government Framework.  He went on that whilst it is good to win, it is always better to gain knowledge, and so the schools must use this event as a good learning experience going forward.  He said it is importance for students to know the framework of the Local Government because it means gaining and getting knowledge at their fingertips.  He said he really wants corporate Jamaica to support and invest in programmes such as these and lauded the Jamaica Public Service Company for having come on board. 

For this year 2015, (18) high schools will be participating and all matches will be played at Cecil’s Restaurant and Lounge.  The first on Tuesday, November 03, 2015 between the hours of 2:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. Games in Round One will be played on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays only and Finals on Thursday, November 26, 2015, commencing at 2:30 p.m.

Match Order is as follows:

Tacius Golding High versus Guys Hill High
Cedar Grove Academy versus Dinthill Technical High
Spanish Town High versus Greater Portmore High
Eltham High versus Charlemont High
Cumberland High versus Bridgeport High
Old Harbour High versus St. Catherine High
Ascot High versus Glengoffe High
Waterford High versus St. May’s College
St. Jago High versus Hydel Group of Schools

Winners from 2012 to present:
St. Jago High School              -           2012
Old Harbour High School      -           2013
St. Mary’s College                  -           2014